National Association of Attorneys General

National Association of Attorneys General National Association of Attorneys General

Who are NAAG's members and how is it organized?

The Association’s members are the chief legal officers of the 50 states, and the jurisdictions of American Samoa, the District of Columbia, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands.

The Association has four officers: president, president-elect, vice president and the immediate past president. The Association is divided into four regions. Each year a region chooses a NAAG vice president who moves up through the ranks to become president of the Association. The officers are elected annually during the December NAAG Capital Forum.

Association resources are managed by the NAAG Executive Committee, which consists of 12 attorneys general: the four officers, one representative from each region (usually the regional chair), three at-large representatives appointed by the president, and the chair of the Mission Foundation. The Executive Committee employs the association’s executive director, who oversees the day-to-day operations of the Association.

The Association also has a number of committees that provide a venue for attorneys general to examine key state and national legal issues. Committee leadership is appointed by the president of the Association and political and regional aspects are considered, with the goal of balancing these appointments. Special task forces and working groups also may be created to focus on high-priority issues affecting the states.

Who's My AG?

Find the attorney general who represents you.

Meetings & Trainings

Stay informed of NAAG meetings and the NAGTRI trainings we offer.

AG Spotlight

Peter F. Neronha, Rhode Island Attorney General

Peter F. Neronha is the attorney general of Rhode Island.