National Association of Attorneys General

National Association of Attorneys General National Association of Attorneys General

Connecticut Attorney General Is New NAAG President

Washington, DC---Connecticut Attorney General George Jepsen was elected president of the National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG) during its Summer Meeting, June 21-23 in Burlington, Vt. The NAAG leadership transition took place last night. The Association’s members are the 56 state and territorial attorneys general.

“I am honored to have earned the support of my colleagues to serve as NAAG’s next president. Attorneys general very often come together on a bipartisan basis to uphold our state laws and to work cooperatively on issues of mutual concern, and NAAG is a strong and valuable resource that aids us in our work,” Attorney General Jepsen said. “I look forward to following in the footsteps of my esteemed predecessors during the coming year, and I hope through my presidency to further develop the important functions and services that NAAG offers to state and territorial attorneys general across the country.”

The 2016-2017 NAAG Presidential Initiative is, “Evolving Challenges in the American Health Care Marketplace: Competition, Cost and Innovation in a Rapidly Changing Industry.”

South Dakota Attorney General Marty Jackley concluded his 2015-2016 NAAG presidential term by acknowledging the work done on the year-long initiative, “To Protect & Serve with 21st Century Policing.”

“Our nation’s attorneys general are strong leaders that protect our citizens and provide our states a voice heard loud and clear,” said Attorney General Jackley. “It has been an honor to lead the state and territorial attorneys general over the last year, and I am proud of our accomplishments driven by strong bipartisan cooperation and the ability to set aside political differences to best serve our citizens.”

Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt was elected President-Elect, Georgia Attorney General Sam Olens was elected Vice President, and Attorney General Jackley became Immediate Past President for the 2016-2017 term.

The Association also announced its annual award winners:

South Dakota Attorney General Marty Jackley was the recipient of the Kelley-Wyman Award, the Association’s most prestigious honor given annually to the attorney general who has done the most to achieve NAAG objectives.

The Attorney General Senior Staff Member of the Year Award, given to those who have provided exceptional service to NAAG and the attorneys general through exemplary leadership, expertise and achievement, was awarded to Jeff Milsteen of the Georgia Department of Law and Hugh Jones with the state of Hawaii, Department of the Attorney General.

The Attorney General Career Staff of the Year Award was awarded to Laura Dupaix of the Utah Attorney General’s Office and Nathan Blake and Jessica Whitney of the Iowa Attorney General’s Office for their extensive work on several multistate cases.

The National Attorneys General Training and Research Institute (NAGTRI), a NAAG branch, honored Dawn Jordan from the Tennessee Attorney General’s Office and Glenn King from the New York Attorney General’s Office with the NAGTRI Faculty of the Year Award. This award is given annually to faculty members who have significantly contributed to developing and presenting quality legal training for their counterparts in attorneys general offices.

Individuals from the California, Colorado, New York, Ohio, Texas, and Utah offices of the attorney general were recognized for excellence in brief writing for the U.S. Supreme Court. Recipients of the 2016 NAAG Supreme Court Best Brief Awards are: Solicitor General Edward C. DuMont and Deputy Solicitor General Aimee Feinberg of California; Solicitor General Frederick R. Yarger, Chief Deputy Attorney General David Blake, First Assistant Attorney General Claudia Brett Goldin, Assistant Solicitors General Scott Steinbrecher and Grant T. Sullivan, and Assistant Attorney General Sueanna P. Johnson of Colorado; Solicitor General Barbara D. Underwood, Deputy Solicitor General Steven C. Wu, and Assistant Solicitor General Judith N. Vale of New York; Solicitor General Eric Murphy, Deputy Solicitors General Michael Hendershot and Hannah Wilson of Ohio; Solicitor General Scott A. Keller, Deputy Solicitor General J. Campbell Barker, Assistant Solicitors General Ari Cuenin and Alex Potapov of Texas; and Solicitor General Tyler R. Green, Deputy Solicitor General Laura B. Dupaix, Criminal Appeals Director Thomas B. Brunker, and Search & Seizure Section Director Jeffrey S. Gray of Utah.

The Francis X. Bellotti Award, given to a former attorney general who has served the Society of Attorneys General Emeritus (SAGE) and worked diligently to further SAGE’s vision and mission, was presented to former Pennsylvania Attorney General Walter Cohen.

The Association elects its officers yearly, through geographical rotation by region. Election of the four officers—president, president-elect, vice president and immediate past president—takes place at the annual NAAG Summer Meeting.

# # #

The National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG),, was founded in 1907 to help attorneys general fulfill the responsibilities of their office and to assist in the delivery of high quality legal services to the states and territorial jurisdictions.

Who's My AG?

Find the attorney general who represents you.

Meetings & Trainings

Stay informed of NAAG meetings and the NAGTRI trainings we offer.

AG Spotlight

Tim Fox, Montana Attorney General

Tim Fox, the Montana attorney general, has worked in public service since 1990.