National Association of Attorneys General

National Association of Attorneys General National Association of Attorneys General

Mississippi Attorney General Is New NAAG President

For Immediate Release:

Washington, DC---Mississippi Attorney General Jim Hood was elected president of the National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG) during its Summer Meeting, June 3 -5 in Mackinac Island, Mich. The NAAG leadership transition took place last night. Attorney General Hood�s presidential initiative will focus on challenges facing the attorneys general in fighting digital crime and protecting intellectual property rights.

“It is an honor to be chosen for this position by my peers from around the country. I look forward to working with my colleagues on many issues of public concern and most especially those focusing on intellectual property theft,” Attorney General Hood said. “It is a pleasure to serve at both the state and national levels.”

Wisconsin Attorney General JB Van Hollen concluded his 2013-2014 NAAG presidential term last night by acknowledging the discussions and work done on his initiative, “America�s Promise: Keeping Our Kids Safe.”

“It has been a tremendous honor to serve as NAAG president this past year, and I thank my colleagues from across the country for their confidence and their support, as well as NAAG staff for their contributions to my Presidential Initiative,” said Attorney General Van Hollen. “NAAG serves our respective states well, and I�m hopeful, having taken a leading role in the organization�s new five-year strategic plan, that it will continue to grow and continue to be a positive force for the rule of law and for public safety across the nation.”

South Dakota Attorney General Marty Jackley was elected President-Elect, Connecticut Attorney General George Jepsen was elected Vice President, and Attorney General Van Hollen became Immediate Past President for the 2014-2015 term.

The Association also announced its annual award winners:

Massachusetts Attorney General Martha Coakley was the recipient of the Kelley-Wyman Award, the Association�s most prestigious honor given annually to the attorney general who has done the most to achieve NAAG objectives.

The Attorney General Executive Staff Member of the Year Award, given to those who have provided exceptional service to NAAG and the attorneys general through exemplary leadership, expertise and achievement, was awarded to Shirley Battan of the Washington Attorney General's Office.

The National Attorneys General Training and Research Institute (NAGTRI), a branch of NAAG, honored Bill Becker from the Ohio Attorney General�s Office, Janet Drake from the Colorado Attorney General�s Office and Rene Tomisser of the Washington Attorney General�s Office with the NAGTRI Faculty of the Year Award. This award is given annually to faculty members who have significantly contributed to developing and presenting quality legal training for their counterparts in attorneys general offices.

Individuals from the Alabama, Illinois, Massachusetts, Michigan, New York, and Texas offices of the attorneys general were recognized for excellence in brief writing for the U.S. Supreme Court. Recipients of the NAAG Supreme Court Best Brief Awards are Solicitor General Andrew L. Brasher and Assistant Solicitor General Megan A. Kirkpatrick of Alabama; Solicitor General Michael A. Scodro, Deputy Solicitor General Jane Elinor Notz, and Assistant Attorneys General Brett E. Legner, Nadine Jean Wichern, Eldad Malamuth, and Clifford W. Berlow of Illinois; Assistant Attorneys General Jennifer Grace Miller, Jonathan B. Miller, and Sookyoung Shin of Massachusetts; Solicitor General John J. Bursch, Deputy Solicitor General B. Eric Restuccia, Assistant Solicitor General Aaron D. Lindstrom, and Assistant Attorney General Raina Korbakis of Michigan; Solicitor General Barbara D. Underwood, Deputy Solicitor General Richard P. Dearing, Special Counsel to the Solicitor General Cecelia C. Chang, and Assistant Solicitor General Valerie Figueredo of New York; and Solicitor General Jonathan F. Mitchell, Deputy Solicitor General Andrew S. Oldham, and Assistant Solicitors General Michael P. Murphy, James P. Sullivan, and Douglas D. Geyser of Texas.

The Francis X. Bellotti Award, given to a former attorney general who has served the Society of Attorneys General Emeritus (SAGE) and worked diligently to further SAGE�s vision and mission, was presented to former Nevada Attorney General Frankie Sue Del Papa.

The Association elects its officers yearly, through geographical rotation by region. Election of the four officers�president, president-elect, vice president and immediate past president�takes place at the annual NAAG Summer Meeting.

Who's My AG?

Find the attorney general who represents you.

Meetings & Trainings

Stay informed of NAAG meetings and the NAGTRI trainings we offer.

AG Spotlight

Tim Fox, Montana Attorney General

Tim Fox, the Montana attorney general, has worked in public service since 1990.