National Association of Attorneys General

National Association of Attorneys General National Association of Attorneys General

Montana Attorney General Tim Fox is Elected NAAG President

For Release: Dec. 11, 2019 | 2:00 pm ET

Contact: Ashley Wynstra | 202-326-6027 |

Twitter: @NatlAssnAttysGn

Washington, D.C. --- Montana Attorney General Tim Fox was elected president of the National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG) during its Capital Forum, Dec. 9-11. Attorney General Fox has selected “Transformational Leadership and Civility” as his presidential initiative.

“I am humbled beyond words that my fellow state, territorial, and District of Columbia attorneys general have chosen me to take the helm of the National Association of Attorneys General for 2020. To my friend and predecessor, Attorney General Jeff Landry of Louisiana, thank you for your hard work and leadership over the past year. As we look to the coming year, there’s important work to be done in public safety, consumer protection, upholding the rule of law, and more. I urge my colleagues to take advantage of the opportunities our association offers us to reach across partisan and ideological divides and work together on these issues in a spirit of statesmanship and civility,” said Attorney General Fox.

He will host his Presidential Summit in Big Sky, Montana from August 13-14, 2020.

Louisiana Attorney General Jeff Landry closed his term as president with a final panel on his initiative, “Emergency and Crisis Management,” which examined the relationship between private and public entities during a disaster. 

“It has been an honor to lead the National Association of Attorneys General for the last 18 months. From emergency preparedness to consumer protection to the opioid epidemic, I am proud of the work we have done on pivotal issues that have affected the daily lives of our constituents. I am confident General Fox will expound upon these bipartisan efforts and begin other important endeavors to help the American people in the next year,” said Attorney General Jeff Landry.

NAAG also elected executive officers and region chairs for 2020. District of Columbia Attorney General Karl A. Racine will serve as president-elect and Iowa Attorney General Tom Miller will serve as vice president. Vermont Attorney General TJ Donovan, Oklahoma Attorney General Mike Hunter, North Carolina Attorney General Josh Stein, and New Mexico Attorney General Hector Balderas will serve as chairs of the Eastern, Midwestern, Southern, and Western Regions respectively.

# # #

The National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG) was founded in 1907 to help attorneys general fulfill the responsibilities of their office and to assist in the delivery of high-quality legal services to the states and territorial jurisdictions.

Who's My AG?

Find the attorney general who represents you.

Meetings & Trainings

Stay informed of NAAG meetings and the NAGTRI trainings we offer.

AG Spotlight

Mike Hunter, Oklahoma Attorney General

Mike Hunter is the attorney general of Oklahoma.