National Association of Attorneys General

National Association of Attorneys General National Association of Attorneys General

National Association of Attorneys General Announces Annual Award Recipients

For Release: Dec. 12, 2019 | 1:30 pm ET

Contact: Ashley Wynstra | 202-326-6027 |

Twitter: @NatlAssnAttysGn

Washington, D.C. --- The National Association of Attorneys Generals (NAAG) announced its annual award winners at the President’s Dinner hosted during the Capital Forum on Dec. 10.   

Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt was the recipient of the Kelley-Wyman Award, the Association’s most prestigious honor given annually to the attorney general who has done the most to achieve NAAG objectives.

The Attorney General Senior Staff Member of the Year Award, given to those who have provided exceptional service to NAAG and the attorneys general through exemplary leadership, expertise and achievement, was awarded to:

  • Dennis Dunn, chief deputy attorney general, Georgia Attorney General’s Office
  • Natalie Ludaway, chief deputy attorney general, District of Columbia Attorney General’s Office
  • Charlie McGuigan, chief deputy attorney general, South Dakota Attorney General’s Office 

The Attorney General Career Staff of the Year Award recognizes individuals who have helped advance the work of attorneys general through creativity, perseverance, dedication, and commitment. This year’s award was presented to:

  • Major Pete La Fuente, assistant attorney general, Texas Attorney General’s Office
  • Bruce Lieberman, assistant attorney general, Alabama Attorney General’s Office
  • Rolf Moan, assistant attorney general, Oregon Attorney General’s Office. 

The National Attorneys General Training and Research Institute (NAGTRI), a NAAG branch, honored five recipients with the NAGTRI Faculty of the Year Award. This award is given annually to faculty members who have significantly contributed to developing and presenting quality legal training for their counterparts in attorneys general offices. The 2019 recipients are:

  • Marc Abrams, assistant attorney in charge, Civil Litigation Section, Trial Division, Oregon Attorney General’s Office
  • Leslie Bridges, senior deputy in the Public Protection Section and counsel to the attorney general, Tennessee Attorney General’s Office
  • Katherine “Missy” Cary, chief of staff, Texas Attorney General’s Office
  • David Chaisson, principal counsel to the Maryland treasurer and assistant attorney general, Maryland Attorney General’s Office
  • Anthony Picione, counsel to the director, Office of Public Integrity and Accountability, New Jersey Attorney General’s Office

Photos of the awards ceremony can be viewed here.

# # #

The National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG) was founded in 1907 to help attorneys general fulfill the responsibilities of their office and to assist in the delivery of high-quality legal services to the states and territorial jurisdictions.

The National Attorneys General Training & Research Institute (NAGTRI), a NAAG branch, provides innovative legal trainings and comprehensive research to state and territorial attorneys general offices.

Who's My AG?

Find the attorney general who represents you.

Meetings & Trainings

Stay informed of NAAG meetings and the NAGTRI trainings we offer.

AG Spotlight

Mike Hunter, Oklahoma Attorney General

Mike Hunter is the attorney general of Oklahoma.