National Association of Attorneys General

National Association of Attorneys General National Association of Attorneys General

NAAG Announces New Slate Of Officers And Winners Of 2007 Annual Association Awards


Friday, June 22, 2007
Angelita Plemmer, Director of Communications
Cell: (703) 585-7486

ATLANTA, Ga. --- Members of the National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG) elected Idaho Attorney General Lawrence Wasden as president for the 2007-2008 term Thursday night, making history as the Association’s first president from Idaho.

The announcement was made during NAAG’s 2007 Summer Meeting, held June 19-21 in Atlanta, where more than 300 participants, including 41 Attorneys General and their key staff, met with U.S. Attorney General Alberto Gonzales, former U.S. Attorney General John Ashcroft, chief executive officers of several Fortune 500 companies, and a number of community organizations and advocacy groups. This year also marks the Association’s 100-year anniversary, making it one of the oldest legal associations in the country.

“NAAG has become an important institution and has served the Attorneys General, the states, the nation and our citizens well for the last century,” President Wasden said. “We should congratulate ourselves and our predecessors for the leadership and accomplishments of our Association and we must take care to preserve the fellowship and credibility of NAAG for the next 100 years.”

Serving alongside President Wasden are Rhode Island Attorney General Patrick Lynch as president-elect; Nebraska Attorney General Jon Bruning as vice president; and Georgia Attorney General Thurbert Baker as immediate past president.

President Wasden also announced his presidential initiative, “Providing Effective Energy Counsel to State Government; An Attorney General’s Perspective.” In a two-day conference, President Wasden will convene members of private industry, government, and the scientific community to discuss issues surrounding global warming, alternative forms of energy and increased energy demands.

“We need to discuss these issues openly and frankly in order to prepare our offices to meet the challenges the energy issue will present in the future,” President Wasden said.

Outoing NAAG President, Attorney General Baker, delivered his final remarks. As President, he focused on using public-private initiatives as a vital tool in addressing social problems. Attorney General Baker met with members of private industry, the U.S. Chamber of Commerce and other top business executives to facilitate their cooperation in community partnerships.

The Association also announced its annual award winners.

  • Georgia Attorney General Thurbert Baker received the Kelley-Wyman Award, the Association’s highest honor given to the Attorney General who has done the most to achieve the objectives of NAAG.
  • The Marvin Award, given annually to individuals who serve on the staffs of state Attorneys General and who have furthered the goals of NAAG, has several recipients: Arizona Chief of Civil Appeals Paula Bickett; Oklahoma First Assistant Attorney General Tom Gruber; and Missouri Chief Deputy Karen Mitchell.
  • The Laurie Loveland Award was presented to Christy Mihaly from the Vermont Office of the Attorney General. The award recognizes individuals within an Attorney General’s office who have helped to advance the work of Attorneys General on tobacco-related issues.

Individuals from the California, Illinois, Indiana, New York, Texas and Washington offices of the Attorneys General were recognized for excellence in brief writing in the U.S. Supreme Court. Recipients of the Supreme Court Briefs Awards were: Deputy Attorney General Ross Moody, Deputy Solicitor General Don DeNicola and others of California; Solicitor General Gary Feinerman and Deputy Solicitor General Michael Scodro of Illinois; Solicitor General Tom Fisher and Section Chief Stephen Creason of Indiana; Solicitor General Barbara Underwood, Assistant Solicitors General Ben Gutman and Daniel Chepaitis, and Jay Himes and Robert Hubbard of New York; Solicitor General Ted Cruz and Assistant Solicitors General Rance Craft, William Davis, and Brantley Starr of Texas; and Solicitor General Maureen Hart, Deputy Solicitor General Bill Collins and others of Washington.

The Association elects its officers yearly, through geographical rotation by region. Election of the four officers --- President, President-Elect, Vice President and Immediate Past President --- takes place at the annual NAAG Summer Meeting. The President appoints all standing and special committee chairs. Committees are charged with studying all substantive matters within their jurisdiction and recommending policy positions and other matters to the Attorneys General for action by the full Association.

The Executive Committee is charged with the management of Association operations and yearly approval of a program plan of goals, objectives, and activities to guide its work. The Executive Committee comprises the four NAAG officers, four regional delegates and three presidential appointees and the chair of the NAAG Mission Foundation, which supports the work of the Association.

Who's My AG?

Find the attorney general who represents you.

Meetings & Trainings

Stay informed of NAAG meetings and the NAGTRI trainings we offer.

AG Spotlight

Tim Fox, Montana Attorney General

Tim Fox, the Montana attorney general, has worked in public service since 1990.