National Association of Attorneys General

National Association of Attorneys General National Association of Attorneys General

Nebraska Attorney General Jon Bruning Elected NAAG President

For Immediate Release:

Colorado Springs, Colo.—Nebraska Attorney General Jon Bruning was unanimously elected yesterday by the members of the National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG) to become the Association’s 102nd president.

“Attorneys general are uniquely situated to lead the way in building a stronger and safer future for our states and our families,” said President Bruning. “Serving as president of NAAG is an honor, and I look forward to working with my colleagues on issues that affect us on both the state and national level.”

Elections were held June 17 during NAAG’s 2009 Summer Meeting, June 16-18, in Colorado Springs where nearly 200 participants, including 30 Attorneys General and their key staff, met to discuss critical state legal issues.

North Carolina Attorney General Roy Cooper was elected President-Elect, Washington Attorney General Rob McKenna as Vice President,and Rhode Island Attorney General Patrick Lynch became Immediate Past President for the 2009-2010 term.

President Bruning said that his presidential initiative, “Virtual World – Real Crime,” strives to shield children from sexual predators and protect consumers and businesses from fraud.

“Predators and scam artists know how to utilize the latest technology to prey on kids and consumers. Real crime runs rampant in the virtual world. I urge my NAAG colleagues to join me and bring emerging trends to the forefront, harness new technology and better combat the crime and corruption that come with it,” said President Bruning.

Outgoing NAAG President, Attorney General Lynch, delivered his final remarks last night and concluded his presidential initiative, “The Year of the Child,” with a goal of increasing online safety. “We will continue our work in fostering a safer social networking environment and in preventing predators and other criminals from using cyberspace as their own personal playgrounds,” Attorney General Lynch said. “It’s been an honor as NAAG president to work with incredibly talented and dedicated individuals who come together to ensure that justice is done.”

The Association also announced its annual award winners:

  • Idaho Attorney General Lawrence Wasden received the Kelley-Wyman Award, the Association’s highest honor given to the Attorney General who has done the most to achieve the objectives of NAAG.
  • The Marvin Award, given annually to individuals who serve on the staff of state Attorneys General and who have furthered the goals of NAAG, was awarded to Jay Chaudhuri, who served as special counsel to North Carolina Attorney General Roy Cooper and Connecticut Special Counsel Anthony Jannotta.
  • The Laurie Loveland Award was presented to Maryland Assistant Attorney General David Lapp. The award recognizes individuals within an Attorney General’s office who have helped to advance the work of Attorneys General on tobacco-related issues.
  • Individuals from the Alabama, Illinois, Maryland, New York and Texas offices of the Attorneys General were recognized for excellence in brief writing in the U.S. Supreme Court. Recipients of the Supreme Court Best Brief Awards were: Solicitor General Corey Maze and Assistant Attorney General Misty Fairbanks of Alabama; Solicitor General Michael Scodro and Deputy Solicitor General Jenny Notes of Illinois; Austin Schlick, Steven Sullivan, Joshua Auerbach and Michael McDonald of Maryland; Solicitor General Barbara D. Underwood, Deputy Solicitor General Michelle Aronowitz, and Assistant Solicitor General Richard Dearing of New York; and Solicitor General James Ho and Assistant Solicitor General Daniel Geyser of Texas.
  • The Francis X. Bellotti Award, given to a former Attorney General who has served NAAG and worked diligently to further its vision and mission, was presented to former Michigan Attorney General Frank J. Kelley.

The Association elects its officers yearly, through geographical rotation by region. Election of the four officers—President, President-Elect, Vice President and Immediate Past President—takes place at the annual NAAG Summer Meeting. The president appoints all standing and special committee chairs. Committees are charged with studying all substantive matters within their jurisdiction and recommending policy positions and other matters to the Attorneys General for action by the full Association.

The Executive Committee is charged with the management of Association operations and yearly approval of a program plan of goals, objectives, and activities to guide its work. The Executive Committee comprises the four NAAG officers, four regional delegates and three presidential appointees and the chair of the NAAG Mission Foundation, which supports the work of the Association.

Who's My AG?

Find the attorney general who represents you.

Meetings & Trainings

Stay informed of NAAG meetings and the NAGTRI trainings we offer.

AG Spotlight

Tim Fox, Montana Attorney General

Tim Fox, the Montana attorney general, has worked in public service since 1990.