National Association of Attorneys General

National Association of Attorneys General National Association of Attorneys General

New NAAG President Is Maryland Attorney General

For Immediate Release:

Washington, DC---Maryland Attorney General Doug Gansler was elected president of the National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG) during its Summer Meeting, June 19 – 21 in Anchorage. His year-long presidential initiative will focus on “Privacy in the Digital Age.”

“As the chief legal officers of our states, Attorneys General are engaged in every aspect of state governance. We are uniquely positioned to make a real difference in the lives of the citizens in our states, and we do so every day,” Attorney General Gansler said. “It is an honor to serve as NAAG President. I look forward to working with my colleagues on some of our states’ and our nation’s most pressing issues.”

Washington Attorney General Rob McKenna concluded his 2011-2012 NAAG presidential term last night by acknowledging the accomplishments of his human trafficking initiative.

“State attorneys general demonstrate that our successful bipartisan collaboration to confront serious problems – such as human trafficking and the foreclosure crisis – is now the norm,” said Attorney General McKenna. “Having worked closely with Attorney General Gansler on these and other important matters, I know he will build on NAAG’s successes by addressing the key issues of our time.”

Wisconsin Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen was elected President-Elect, Mississippi Attorney General Jim Hood was elected Vice President, and Washington Attorney General Rob McKenna became Immediate Past President for the 2012-2013 term.

The Association also announced its annual award winners:

Colorado Attorney General John Suthers was the recipient of the Kelley-Wyman Award, the Association’s most prestigious honor given annually to the Attorney General who has done the most to achieve NAAG objectives.

The NAAG president gave awards to five Attorneys General who were instrumental in reaching the February 2012 landmark settlement with the five largest mortgage servicers. The recipients were Colorado Attorney General John Suthers, Florida Attorney General Pam Bondi, Iowa Attorney General Tom Miller, Illinois Attorney General Lisa Madigan and North Carolina Attorney General Roy Cooper.

The Attorney General Staff Member of the Year Award, given to those who have furthered the goals of NAAG, was awarded to Al Lama of the New Mexico Attorney General's Office and Phil Lehman of the North Carolina Department of Justice.

The National Attorneys General Training and Research Institute (NAGTRI), the research and training arm of NAAG, honored Duffy Jamieson from the Ohio Attorney General’s Office

with the NAGTRI Faculty of the Year Award. This award is given annually to faculty members who have significantly contributed to developing and presenting quality programs for their counterparts in Attorneys General offices.

The Laurie Loveland Award was presented to Matthew Berge with the Massachusetts Attorney General’s Office. The award recognizes individuals who have helped to advance the work of Attorneys General on tobacco-related issues.

Individuals from the Alabama, California, District of Columbia, Maryland, Michigan, New York and Texas offices of the Attorneys General were recognized for excellence in brief writing for the U.S. Supreme Court. Recipients of the NAAG Supreme Court Best Brief Awards are Solicitor General John C. Neiman Jr., Deputy Solicitor General Prim F. Escalona, Deputy Solicitor General Andrew L. Brasher, Assistant Attorney General Stephanie Reiland, and Assistant Attorney General William G. Parker Jr. of Alabama; Solicitor General Manuel M. Medeiros, Senior Assistant Louis Verdugo, Deputy Attorney General Antonette Cordero, Deputy Attorney General, and Jose Zelidon-Zepeda of California; Solicitor General Todd Kim of the District of Columbia; Acting Solicitor General William F. Brockman, Assistant Attorney General Joshua N. Auerbach, and Assistant Attorney General Stephen M. Ruckman of Maryland; Solicitor General John J. Bursch, Chief Legal Counsel Richard A. Bandstra, Deputy Solicitor General B. Eric Restuccia, and Assistant Attorney General Brian O. Neill of Michigan; Solicitor General Barbara D. Underwood, Bureau Chief Kristen Clarke, Deputy Solicitor General Cecelia C. Chang, and Assistant Solicitor General Steven C. Wu of New York; and Solicitor General Jonathan F. Mitchell, Assistant Solicitor General James P. Sullivan, and Assistant Solicitor General Arthur D. D’Andrea of Texas.

The Francis X. Bellotti Award, given to a former Attorney General who has served the Society of Attorneys General Emeritus (SAGE) and worked diligently to further NAAG’s vision and mission, was presented to former New Jersey Attorney General Peter C. Harvey.

The Association elects its officers yearly, through geographical rotation by region. Election of the four officers—President, President-Elect, Vice President and Immediate Past President—takes place at the annual NAAG Summer Meeting.

# # #

The National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG),, was founded in 1907 to help Attorneys General fulfill the responsibilities of their office and to assist in the delivery of high quality legal services to the states and territorial jurisdictions.

Who's My AG?

Find the attorney general who represents you.

Meetings & Trainings

Stay informed of NAAG meetings and the NAGTRI trainings we offer.

AG Spotlight

Tim Fox, Montana Attorney General

Tim Fox, the Montana attorney general, has worked in public service since 1990.