National Association of Attorneys General

National Association of Attorneys General National Association of Attorneys General

North Carolina Attorney General Roy Cooper Elected NAAG President

For Release: June 17, 2010, 9:00 a.m. Eastern/6 a.m. Pacific

Seattle, Wash. — North Carolina Attorney General Roy Cooper was unanimously elected yesterday by the members of the National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG) to become the Association’s 103rd president.

“Working together we can share our best law enforcement and legal strategies to protect the people of our states and of America,” said Attorney General Cooper. “It is an honor to serve with the people who are their state’s top public protectors and legal officers.”

Elections were held June 16 during NAAG’s 2010 Summer Meeting, June 14-16, in Seattle where nearly 200 participants, including Attorneys General and their key staff from across the country, met to discuss critical state legal issues.

Washington Attorney General Rob McKenna was elected President-Elect, Maryland Attorney General Doug Gansler was elected Vice President,and Nebraska Attorney General Jon Bruning became Immediate Past President for the 2010-2011 term.

Attorney General Cooper will focus on fighting financial fraud, he announced Wednesday night in his presidential address.

“The theme will be America’s Financial Recovery: Protecting Consumers as We Rebuild,” Attorney General Cooper said. “Our goal will be to find ways to detect and prevent financial scams that sink people further into debt and hurt businesses, to make financial products fair to consumers, and to help prevent future financial calamities like we just experienced.”

Outgoing NAAG President, Attorney General Bruning, delivered his final remarks last night and concluded his presidential initiative, Virtual World – Real Crime.

“The focus of this initiative was to protect children from sexual predators and exploiters,” said Attorney General Bruning. “To accomplish this, we worked to increase training for law enforcement and prosecutors. Through our efforts, nearly 150 law enforcement officers and prosecutors were trained to successfully investigate and prosecute those who prey on our children. More important, our efforts resulted in the rescue of child victims and those in high risk situations with an adult who was actively trading images of child sexual assault.”

The Association also announced its annual award winners:

  • Arizona Attorney General Terry Goddard received the Kelley-Wyman Award, the Association’s highest honor given to the Attorney General who has done the most to achieve the objectives of NAAG.
  • The Marvin Award, given annually to individuals who serve on the staff of state Attorneys General and who have furthered the goals of NAAG, was awarded to Brian Moran with the Washington Attorney General office.
  • The Laurie Loveland Award was presented to Leslie Bridges of the Tennessee Attorney General office. The award recognizes individuals within an Attorney General’s office who have helped to advance the work of Attorneys General on tobacco-related issues.
  • Individuals from the Alabama, Louisiana, New York, Ohio, Texas, Virginia and Washington offices of the Attorneys General were recognized for excellence in brief writing in the U.S. Supreme Court. Recipients of the Supreme Court Best Brief Awards were: Solicitor General Corey Maze of Alabama; Appellate Chief Kyle Duncan of Louisiana; Solicitor General Barbara D. Underwood, Benjamin Gutman and Cecelia Chang of New York; Solicitor General Benjamin C. Mizer, Alexandra T. Schimmer, Stephen P. Carney, Elisabeth A. Long, and Barton A. Hubbard of Ohio; Solicitor General James C. Ho, Joseph D. Hughes, and Beth Klusmann of Texas; Solicitor General William E. Thro, Stephen R. McCullough and Alice T. Armstrong of Virginia; and Solicitor General Maureen Hart, William B. Collins, and Anne E. Egeler of Washington.
  • The Francis X. Bellotti Award, given to a former Attorney General who has served NAAG and worked diligently to further its vision and mission, was presented to former Massachusetts Attorney General Tom Reilly.

The Association elects its officers yearly, through geographical rotation by region. Election of the four officers—President, President-Elect, Vice President and Immediate Past President—takes place at the annual NAAG Summer Meeting. The president appoints all standing and special committee chairs. Committees are charged with studying all substantive matters within their jurisdiction and recommending policy positions and other matters to the Attorneys General for action by the full Association.

The Executive Committee is charged with the management of Association operations and yearly approval of a program plan of goals, objectives, and activities to guide its work. The Executive Committee comprises the four NAAG officers, four regional delegates and three presidential appointees and the chair of the NAAG Mission Foundation, which supports the work of the Association.

# # #

The National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG),, was founded in 1907 to help Attorneys General fulfill the responsibilities of their office and to assist in the delivery of high quality legal services to the states and territorial jurisdictions.

Who's My AG?

Find the attorney general who represents you.

Meetings & Trainings

Stay informed of NAAG meetings and the NAGTRI trainings we offer.

AG Spotlight

Derek Schmidt, Kansas Attorney General

Derek Schmidt has been the Kansas attorney general since 2011 and is the current NAAG president.