National Association of Attorneys General

National Association of Attorneys General National Association of Attorneys General

South Dakota Attorney General is New NAAG President

For Immediate Release:

Washington, DC---South Dakota Attorney General Marty Jackley was elected president of the National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG) during its Summer Meeting, June 16-18 in San Diego, Calif. The NAAG leadership transition took place last night. The Association’s members are the 56 state and territorial attorneys general.

“I am honored to serve alongside my fellow attorneys general in the vital task of cooperatively enforcing our state laws and promoting sound law enforcement policies,” Attorney General Jackley said. “By bringing attorneys general together, the Association is a valuable resource for improving public safety and the lives of citizens in our states.”

Mississippi Attorney General Jim Hood concluded his 2014-2015 NAAG presidential term by acknowledging the work done on his year-long initiative, “Protecting Our Digital Lives: New Challenges for Attorneys General.”

“We attorneys general are on the frontline of the war against digital crime. With this NAAG initiative, we focused on protecting consumers and businesses from online criminals using new technologies,” said Attorney General Hood. “The knowledge gained and ideas shared will make a difference in our legal work moving forward. I appreciate the interest and participation of my colleagues. It was an honor serving as NAAG president.”

Connecticut Attorney General George Jepsen was elected President-Elect, Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt was elected Vice President, and Attorney General Hood became Immediate Past President for the 2015-2016 term.

The Association also announced its annual award winners:

Indiana Attorney General Greg Zoeller was the recipient of the Kelley-Wyman Award, the Association’s most prestigious honor given annually to the attorney general who has done the most to achieve NAAG objectives.

The Attorney General Senior Staff Member of the Year Award, given to those who have provided exceptional service to NAAG and the attorneys general through exemplary leadership, expertise and achievement, was awarded to Staci Schneider of the Indiana Attorney General's Office.

The Attorney General Career Staff of the Year Award was awarded to Matthew Budzik and George O’Connell of the Connecticut Attorney General’s Office for their work on the S & P settlement.

The National Attorneys General Training and Research Institute (NAGTRI), a branch of NAAG, honored Margaret Q. “Peggy” Chapple from the Connecticut Attorney General’s Office, Cynthia Hirsch of the Wisconsin Department of Justice, and Stacey Veroni from the Rhode Island Attorney General’s Office with the NAGTRI Faculty of the Year Award. This award is given annually to faculty members who have significantly contributed to developing and presenting quality legal training for their counterparts in attorneys general offices.

Individuals from the Alabama, California, Colorado, Michigan, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Virginia offices of the attorney general were recognized for excellence in brief writing for the U.S. Supreme Court. Recipients of the 2015 NAAG Supreme Court Best Brief Awards are: Solicitor General Andrew L. Brasher and Assistant Solicitor General Megan A. Kirkpatrick of Alabama; Solicitor General Edward C. Dumont, Deputy Solicitor General Joshua A. Klein, Assistant Attorney General Gerald A. Engler, and Deputy Attorneys General Julie L. Garland, Robin Urbanski and Holly D. Wilkens of California; Solicitor General Daniel D. Domenico, Assistant Solicitors General Frederick R. Yarger, Michael Francisco, and Assistant Attorney General Megan Paris Rundlet of Colorado; Solicitor General Aaron D. Lindstrom, and Assistant Attorney General Neil D. Gordon of Michigan; Solicitor General Barbara D. Underwood, Deputy Solicitor General Steven C. Wu, and Assistant Solicitor General Cecelia C. Chang of New York; Solicitor General Eric Murphy, and Assistant Attorney General Samuel Peterson of Ohio; Senior Deputy Attorney General Claudia M. Tesoro, and Chief Deputy Attorney General John Knorr, III of Pennsylvania; and Solicitor General Stuart A. Raphael, Deputy Solicitor General Trevor S. Cox, Chief Deputy Cynthia Hudson, Deputy Attorney General Cynthia V. Bailey, Senior Assistant Attorney General Allyson K. Tysinger, and Assistant Attorney General Carly L. Rush of Virginia<

The Francis X. Bellotti Award, given to a former attorney general who has served the Society of Attorneys General Emeritus (SAGE) and worked diligently to further SAGE’s vision and mission, was presented to former Florida Attorney General Richard Doran.

The Association elects its officers yearly, through geographical rotation by region. Election of the four officers—president, president-elect, vice president and immediate past president—takes place at the annual NAAG Summer Meeting.

# # #

The National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG),, was founded in 1907 to help attorneys general fulfill the responsibilities of their office and to assist in the delivery of high quality legal services to the states and territorial jurisdictions.

Who's My AG?

Find the attorney general who represents you.

Meetings & Trainings

Stay informed of NAAG meetings and the NAGTRI trainings we offer.

AG Spotlight

Tim Fox, Montana Attorney General

Tim Fox, the Montana attorney general, has worked in public service since 1990.