National Association of Attorneys General

National Association of Attorneys General National Association of Attorneys General

Wisconsin Attorney General Becomes NAAG President

Washington, DC---Wisconsin Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen was elected president of the National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG) during its Summer Meeting, June 17 – 19 in Boston. His year-long presidential initiative will focus on “America’s Promise – Keeping Our Kids Safe.”

“I am honored that my peers, attorneys general from around the country, have chosen me for this role,” Attorney General Van Hollen said. “NAAG serves an important and unique role, and I look forward to working with my colleagues to serve the people of our states, at both the state and national levels.”

Maryland Attorney General Douglas Gansler concluded his 2012-2013 NAAG presidential term last night by acknowledging the discussions and work done on his initiative, “Privacy in the Digital Age.”

“It’s been a privilege to serve the state attorneys general whose bipartisan teamwork has elevated and addressed so many pressing public concerns, among them the numerous threats to individual privacy posed by the digital age,” said Attorney General Gansler. “Attorney General Van Hollen’s energy and advocacy within NAAG and on behalf of his constituents will accelerate the progress we’ve made in service to the public.”

Mississippi Attorney General Jim Hood was elected President-Elect, South Dakota Attorney General Marty Jackley was elected Vice President, and Attorney General Gansler became Immediate Past President for the 2013-2014 term.

The Association also announced its annual award winners:

North Carolina Attorney General Roy Cooper was the recipient of the Kelley-Wyman Award, the Association’s most prestigious honor given annually to the attorney general who has done the most to achieve NAAG objectives.

The Attorney General Staff Member of the Year Award, given to those who have furthered the goals of NAAG, was awarded to Kay Winfree of the Maryland Attorney General's Office.

A NAAG President’s Award for lifetime achievement and service to the attorney general community was presented to former Massachusetts Attorney General Francis X. Bellotti.

Sandra Matheson of the New Hampshire Attorney General’s Office received a NAAG President’s Award for her 26 years of leadership and accomplishments in the field of victim justice and services.

The National Attorneys General Training and Research Institute (NAGTRI), the NAAG research and training arm, honored Monica Burkert-Brist from the Wisconsin Department of Justice and Brian Kane from the Idaho Attorney General’s Office with the NAGTRI Faculty of the Year Award. This award is given annually to faculty members who have significantly contributed to developing and presenting quality legal training for their counterparts in attorneys general offices.

The Laurie Loveland Award was presented to Brad Phelps with the Arkansas Attorney General’s Office. The award recognizes individuals who have helped to advance the work of attorneys general on tobacco-related issues.

Individuals from the Alaska, Illinois, Massachusetts, Michigan, New York, and Texas offices of the attorneys general were recognized for excellence in brief writing for the U.S. Supreme Court. Recipients of the NAAG Supreme Court Best Brief Awards are Solicitor General Joanne Grace, Assistant Attorney General Margaret Paton Walsh, and Assistant Attorney General Ruth Botstein of Alaska; Solicitor General Michael A. Scodro and Deputy Solicitor General Jane Elinor Notz of Illinois; Assistant Attorney General Maura T. Healey, Assistant Attorney General Jonathan B. Miller, Assistant Attorney General Genevieve C. Nadeau, and Assistant Attorney General Gabrielle Viator of Massachusetts; Solicitor General John J. Bursch, Deputy Solicitor General B. Eric Restuccia, and Assistant Solicitor General Aaron D. Lindstrom of Michigan; Solicitor General Barbara D. Underwood, Deputy Solicitor General Richard P. Dearing, Assistant Attorney General Elinor R. Hoffman, and Assistant Solicitor General Andrew B. Ayers of New York; and Solicitor General Jonathan F. Mitchell, Deputy Solicitor General Adam W. Aston, Deputy Solicitor General Andrew S. Oldham, Assistant Solicitor General James P. Sullivan, and Assistant Solicitor General Arthur C. D’Andrea of Texas.

The Francis X. Bellotti Award, given to a former attorney general who has served the Society of Attorneys General Emeritus (SAGE) and worked diligently to further NAAG’s vision and mission, was presented to former Vermont Attorney General M. Jerome Diamond.

The Association elects its officers yearly, through geographical rotation by region. Election of the four officers—president, president-elect, vice president and immediate past president—takes place at the annual NAAG Summer Meeting.


# # #


The National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG),, was founded in 1907 to help Attorneys General fulfill the responsibilities of their office and to assist in the delivery of high quality legal services to the states and territorial jurisdictions.

Who's My AG?

Find the attorney general who represents you.

Meetings & Trainings

Stay informed of NAAG meetings and the NAGTRI trainings we offer.

AG Spotlight

Derek Schmidt, Kansas Attorney General

Derek Schmidt has been the Kansas attorney general since 2011 and is the current NAAG president.