National Association of Attorneys General

National Association of Attorneys General National Association of Attorneys General

2010 Election Results: 14 New Attorneys General Elected

Thirty states and one territory held elections for Attorney General yesterday, Nov. 2. Fourteen new Attorneys General were elected, including the winner in California, which at press time was too close to call. In addition, Tom Corbett, Pennsylvania Attorney General (R), won his race for governor, which will result in a new Pennsylvania Attorney General taking office in January.

Those candidates who won the governor’s race in Hawaii, Alaska, New Hampshire and Wyoming, as well as the new mayor of the District of Columbia, will select their Attorney General, whether that be the incumbent or a new appointee. At least two appointed Attorneys General have publicly stated their intention to step down, which means that at least 17 new Attorneys General will take office in January 2011. One other Attorney General position – Maine – will be determined by a vote of the Maine Legislature on Dec. 1.

Connecticut Attorney General Richard Blumenthal and former New Hampshire Attorney General Kelly Ayotte were both elected to the U.S. Senate, bringing to nine the number of former Attorneys General who will serve in the next Senate.

Also of note, voters in the District of Columbia approved a ballot initiative to make the DC Attorney General an elected position, starting with the 2014 election.

The election results follow, with voter percentages gathered from public sources available at press time. The term for these Attorneys General begins in January 2011.

Alabama – Luther Strange (R) – 59% over James Anderson (D) at 41%.

Arizona – Tom Horne (R) – 53% over Felecia Rotellini (D) at 47%.

Arkansas – Incumbent Dustin McDaniel (D) re-elected, with no Republican opponent.

California –Steve Cooley (R) and Kamala Harris (D) - too close to call at press time.

Colorado – Incumbent John Suthers (R) – 58% over Stan Garnett (D) at 42%.

Connecticut – George Jepsen (D) – 53% over Martha Dean (R) at 44%.

Delaware – Incumbent Joseph R. “Beau” Biden, III (D), is re-elected, ran unopposed.

Florida - Pam Bondi (R) – 55% over Dan Gelber (D) at 41%.

Georgia – Sam Olens (R) – 53% over Ken Hodges (D) at 43%.

Guam – Lenny Rapadas - 56% over Gary Gumataotao at 44% (no political affiliations).

Idaho – Incumbent Lawrence Wasden (R) is re-elected, ran unopposed.

Illinois – Incumbent Lisa Madigan (D) – 64% over Steve Kim (R) at 32%.

Iowa – Incumbent Tom Miller (D) – 56% over Brenna Findley (R) at 44%.

Kansas – Derek Schmidt (R) – 55% over incumbent Steve Six (D) at 42%.

Maryland – Incumbent Doug Gansler (D), is re-elected, ran unopposed.

Massachusetts – Incumbent Martha Coakley (D) – 63% over James McKenna (R) at 37%.

Michigan– Bill Schuette (R) – 53% over David Leyton (D) at 43%.

Minnesota – Incumbent Lori Swanson (D) – 53% over Chris Barden (R) at 41%.

Nebraska – Incumbent Jon Bruning (R), is re-elected, ran unopposed.

Nevada – Incumbent Catherine Cortez Masto (D) – 53% over Travis Barrick (R) at 36%.

New Mexico – Incumbent Gary King (D) – 53% over Matthew Chandler (R) at 47%.

New York – Eric Schneiderman (D) - 55% over Dan Donovan (R) at 43%.

North Dakota – Incumbent Wayne Stenehjem (R) – 75% over Jean Boechler (D) at 25%.

Ohio – Mike DeWine (R) – 48% over incumbent Richard Cordray (D) at 46%.

Oklahoma– Scott Pruitt (R) – 65% over Jim Priest (D) at 35%.

Rhode Island– Peter Kilmartin (D) – 43% over Erik B. Wallin (R) at 29%.

South Carolina– Alan Wilson (R) – 55% over Matthew Richardson (D) at 44%.

South Dakota – Incumbent Marty Jackley (R) – 67% over Ron Volesky (D) at 33%.

Texas – Incumbent Greg Abbott (R) – 65% over Barbara Ann Radnofsky (D) at 35%.

Vermont – Incumbent William Sorrell (D) – 61% over Aaron Toscano (R) at 30%.

Wisconsin – Incumbent J.B. Van Hollen (R) – 58% over Scott Hassett (D) at 42%.

Who's My AG?

Find the attorney general who represents you.

Meetings & Trainings

Stay informed of NAAG meetings and the NAGTRI trainings we offer.

AG Spotlight

Aaron Ford, Nevada Attorney General

Aaron Ford is the attorney general of Nevada.