National Association of Attorneys General

National Association of Attorneys General National Association of Attorneys General

Attorney General Election Updates

The primaries are done and the Nov. 2 general elections are quickly approaching to elect Attorneys General in 31state and territory races. NAAG will host a new Attorney General orientation on Nov. 29-30 prior to its Winter Meeting.

The Attorney General is popularly elected in 43 states and Guam, and is appointed by the governor in five states (Alaska, Hawaii, New Hampshire, New Jersey and Wyoming) and in the jurisdictions of American Samoa, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. In Maine, the Attorney General is selected by secret ballot of the legislature and in Tennessee by its state supreme court. In the District of Columbia, the mayor appoints the Attorney General.

Forty-six states presently provide a four-year term for the Attorney General. Maine and Vermont have a two-year term. Tennessee sets the term at eight years and in Alaska the Attorney General serves at the pleasure of the governor. Among states where the Attorney General is elected to four-year terms, 16 states limit the Attorney General to two such terms. All the others may succeed themselves an unlimited number of times.

The following states and one territory have an Attorney General election. Check specific state election Web sites for more information.

Alabama – James Anderson (D) and Luther Strange (R)

Arizona – Tom Horne (R) and Felecia Rotellini (D). Attorney General Terry Goddard is term limited.

Arkansas – Incumbent Dustin McDaniel (D), with no Republican candidate.

California –Steve Cooley (R) and Kamala Harris (D)

Colorado –Incumbent John Suthers (R) and Stan Garnett (D)

Connecticut – Martha Dean (R) and George Jepsen (D)

Delaware – Joseph R. “Beau” Biden, III (D), incumbent running unopposed.

Florida - Pam Bondi (R) and Dan Gelber (D)

Georgia – Ken Hodges (D) and Sam Olens (R)

Guam –Lenny Rapadas and Gary Gumataotao (no political affiliation).

Idaho – Lawrence Wasden (R), incumbent running unopposed.

Illinois – Incumbent Lisa Madigan (D) and Steve Kim (R)

Iowa – Incumbent Tom Miller (D) and Brenna Findley (R)

Kansas – Incumbent Steve Six (D) and Derek Schmidt (R)

Maryland – Doug Gansler (D), incumbent running unopposed.

Massachusetts – Incumbent Martha Coakley (D) and James McKenna (R)

Michigan – David Leyton (D) and Bill Schuette (R). Attorney General Mike Cox is term limited.

Minnesota – Incumbent Lori Swanson (D) and Chris Barden (R)

Nebraska - Jon Bruning (R), incumbent running unopposed.

Nevada – Incumbent Catherine Cortez Masto (D) and Travis Barrick (R)

New Mexico – Incumbent Gary King (D) and Matthew Chandler (R)

New York – Dan Donovan (R) and Eric Schneiderman (D)

North Dakota – Incumbent Wayne Stenehjem (R) and Jean Boechler (D)

Ohio – Incumbent Richard Cordray (D) and Mike DeWine (R)

Oklahoma – Jim Priest (D) and Scott Pruitt (R)

Rhode Island – Peter Kilmartin (D) and Erik B. Wallin (R). Attorney General Patrick Lynch is term limited.

South Carolina – Matthew Richardson (D) and Alan Wilson (R)

South Dakota – Incumbent Marty Jackley (R) and Ron Volesky (D)

Texas – Incumbent Greg Abbott (R) and Barbara Ann Radnofsky (D)

Vermont – Incumbent William Sorrell (D) and Aaron Toscano (R)

Wisconsin – Incumbent J.B. Van Hollen (R) and Scott Hassett (D)

There are also two Attorneys General who are serving while currently running for another office. Jack Conway, Kentucky Attorney General, is running for U.S. Senate. Tom Corbett, Pennsylvania Attorney General, is running for governor.

Governor-appointed Hawaii Attorney General Mark Bennett (R) announced he is stepping down once a new governor is elected this November. The Attorneys General appointments in Alaska, New Hampshire, and Wyoming could also be impacted depending on the outcome of the 2010 governors’ elections in those states. Maine’s state legislature and the District of Columbia’s mayor will also have November elections which could affect the appointment of their respective Attorneys General.

Who's My AG?

Find the attorney general who represents you.

Meetings & Trainings

Stay informed of NAAG meetings and the NAGTRI trainings we offer.

AG Spotlight

Mark Brnovich, Arizona Attorney General

Mark Brnovich was sworn into office as Arizona attorney general in January 2015.