National Association of Attorneys General

National Association of Attorneys General National Association of Attorneys General

2012 Attorneys General Election Results

Ten states held Nov. 6 elections for attorney general. Below are those chosen by the voters to serve. Their terms will begin in January 2013.



Incumbent Greg Zoeller (R) re-elected to a second, 4-year term


Incumbent Chris Koster (D) re-elected to a second, 4-year term.


This was an open seat race. Tim Fox (R) was elected to a 4-year term.

North Carolina

Incumbent Roy Cooper (D) ran unopposed and secured a fourth, 4-year term. .


Ellen F. Rosenblum (D) was elected to a 4-year term.


This was an open seat race. Kathleen Granahan Kane (D) was elected to a 4-year term.


This was an open seat race. John Swallow (R), chief deputy for retiring Attorney General Mark Shurtleff, was elected to a 4-year term.


Incumbent Bill Sorrell (D) was elected to his seventh, 2-year term.


This was an open seat race. Bob Ferguson (D) was elected to a 4-year term.

West Virginia

Patrick Morrisey (R) was elected to a 4-year term.

Another New Attorney General

The Northern Mariana Islands attorney general is currently appointed by the governor and confirmed by its Senate. Joey Patrick San Nicolas was confirmed and sworn in as attorney general on Nov. 19. He takes over from Acting Attorney General Viola Alepuyo.

A newly ratified legislative initiative amending the Northern Mariana Islands’ Constitution means that voters in November 2014 will elect their attorney general instead of selecting by appointment.

Biographical Information for the Attorneys General-Elect:


Tim Fox previously served as a contract public defender for the city of Billings, Mont., practicing criminal law, in addition to maintaining a civil law practice. He also worked for the Montana Department of Environmental Quality as a special assistant attorney general.

Additionally, Fox served as vice president and legal counsel for a Helena-based national bank, Mountain West Bank. He served in that position for over four years before re-entering private practice with the law firm of Gough, Shanahan, Johnson & Waterman, PLLP.

He graduated from the University of Montana with degrees in geology (1981) and law (1987).


Ellen F. Rosenblum was elected to a four-year term after serving as the interim Oregon attorney general since June 2012. She was appointed by Governor John Kitzhaber to finish the remainder of John Kroger’s term. She is the first female to serve as Oregon’s attorney general.

Rosenblum practiced law for 14 years, served as a federal prosecutor, and has 22 years of experience as both an appellate and trial judge.

Prior to her appointment as attorney general, Rosenblum was a judge on the Oregon Court of Appeals from 2005-2011. She also served as a U.S. assistant attorney for the district of Oregon. As a federal prosecutor she specialized in financial crimes.

She obtained both her undergraduate degree and law degree from the University of Oregon.


Kathleen Granahan Kane, a veteran prosecutor, was previously an assistant district attorney for Lackawanna County. Her career spans thousands of cases from murder and assault to child abuse and elder abuse, from rape and domestic violence, to public corruption and insurance fraud. Due to her distinguished service, she was selected to head the county’s first Insurance Fraud Task Force.

In addition, she contributed to pioneering law enforcement programs, like Lackawanna County’s Mental Health Court, in order to solve problems through other effective and collaborative methods of law enforcement. Her legal career began with civil litigation with the firm of Post & Schell, P.C. in Philadelphia.

She attended the University of Scranton and Temple University School of Law.


John Swallow has been the chief deputy in the Utah Office of Attorney General since 2009 where he oversaw seven civil divisions and all litigation involving the state.

Previously, he was a corporate general counsel to a Utah-based dietary supplement company, where he managed litigation for the company. During that time, John also started his own law practice involving business, real estate, financial, government and corporate matters. Swallow was also appointed as a judge pro tem for the Third District Court, and elected to the Utah House of Representatives.

He obtained a law degree from Brigham Young University where he distinguished himself as a member of the Brigham Young University Law Review.


Bob Ferguson was a King County Council member and served as chairof the Council’s Law, Justice, and Health and Human Services Committee.

In addition, Ferguson clerked for Chief Judge Nielsen of the Eastern District of Washington, and then for Judge Myron Bright on the U.S. Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals. He was also a member of the litigation department at Preston, Gates and Ellis.

He attended the University of Washington and New York University School of Law.

West Virginia

Patrick Morrisey is a health care lawyer and served as partner and co-chair of King & Spalding's Food and Drug and Life Science Group.

He was a partner at Sidley and Austin LLP from 2004 to 2010. Prior to that, he served as deputy staff director and chief health care counsel to the U.S. House of Representatives Energy and Commerce Committee.

Morrisey earned a bachelor’s degree in history and political science, with honors, (obtaining high honors in history) from Rutgers College in 1989 and a juris doctor from Rutgers Law School-Newark in 1992.

Who's My AG?

Find the attorney general who represents you.

Meetings & Trainings

Stay informed of NAAG meetings and the NAGTRI trainings we offer.

AG Spotlight

Jeff Landry, Louisiana Attorney General

Jeff Landry is the attorney general of Louisiana.