National Association of Attorneys General

National Association of Attorneys General National Association of Attorneys General

New NAAG Executive Committee Leading the Association

NAAG has a new Executive Committee leading the Association as of June 20. NAAG elects its officers yearly through geographical rotation by region. Election of the four officers—president, president-elect, vice president and immediate past president—takes place at the annual NAAG Summer Meeting. This year, the meeting took place in Boston, June 17 – 19.

Wisconsin Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen was elected president, Mississippi Attorney General Jim Hood was elected president-elect, South Dakota Attorney General Marty Jackley was elected vice president, and Maryland Attorney General Douglas Gansler became immediate past president for the 2013-2014 term.

“I am honored that my peers, attorneys general from around the country, have chosen me for this role,” Attorney General Van Hollen said. “NAAG serves an important and unique role, and I look forward to working with my colleagues to serve the people of our states, at both the state and national levels.” His presidential initiative will focus on keeping kids safe [see related article on September Summit].

Joining the officers on the NAAG Executive Committee for a one-year term are:

  • Massachusetts Attorney General Martha Coakley, chair, Eastern Region
  • Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt, chair, Midwestern Region
  • Georgia Attorney General Sam Olens, chair, Southern Region
  • Nevada Attorney General Catherine Cortez-Masto, chair, Western Region (CWAG), until the CWAG annual meeting the week of July 22, when a new chair is elected.
  • Vermont Attorney General William Sorrell, chair, NAAG Mission Foundation
  • Florida Attorney General Pam Bondi, presidential appointment
  • Nebraska Attorney General Jon Bruning, presidential appointment
  • Pennsylvania Attorney General Kathleen Kane, presidential appointment

The Association also announced its annual award winners:

North Carolina Attorney General Roy Cooper was the recipient of the Kelley-Wyman Award, the Association’s most prestigious honor given annually to the attorney general who has done the most to achieve NAAG objectives.

“Roy has steadfastly championed the interests not only of North Carolinians, but also of Americans across the country,” NAAG President Gansler said,June 19, in presenting the award. “His dedication, judgment, and hands-on approach to the office have made the attorneys general with whom he has worked, as well as NAAG as an association, better in numerous and important ways.”

Cooper has served as North Carolina attorney general for 12 years and was NAAG president in 2010-2011. He currently serves as a member of the Association’s Consumer Protection Working Group, co-chair of its Consumer Financial Protection Bureau Working Group, and ex-officio board member of the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children.

The Attorney General Staff Member of the Year Award, given to those who have furthered the goals of NAAG, was awarded to Kay Winfree of the Maryland Attorney General's Office.

A NAAG President’s Award for lifetime achievement and service to the attorney general community was presented to former Massachusetts Attorney General Francis X. Bellotti.

Sandra Matheson of the New Hampshire Attorney General’s Office received a NAAG President’s Award for her 26 years of leadership and accomplishments in the field of victim justice and services.

The National Attorneys General Training and Research Institute (NAGTRI), the NAAG research and training arm, honored Monica Burkert-Brist from the Wisconsin Department of Justiceand Brian Kane from the Idaho Attorney General’s Officewith the NAGTRI Faculty of the Year Award. This award is given annually to faculty members who have significantly contributed to developing and presenting quality legal training for their counterparts in attorneys general offices.

The Laurie Loveland Award was presented to Brad Phelps with the Arkansas Attorney General’s Office. The award recognizes individuals who have helped to advance the work of attorneys general on tobacco-related issues.

Individuals from the Alaska, Illinois, Massachusetts, Michigan, New York, and Texas offices of the attorneys general were recognized for excellence in brief writing for the U.S. Supreme Court. Recipients of the NAAG Supreme Court Best Brief Awards are Solicitor General Joanne Grace, Assistant Attorney General Margaret Paton Walsh,and Assistant Attorney General Ruth Botstein of Alaska; Solicitor General Michael A. Scodro and Deputy Solicitor General Jane Elinor Notzof Illinois; Assistant Attorney General Maura T. Healey, Assistant Attorney General Jonathan B. Miller, Assistant Attorney General Genevieve C. Nadeau,andAssistant Attorney General Gabrielle Viator of Massachusetts; Solicitor General John J. Bursch, Deputy Solicitor General B. Eric Restuccia, and Assistant Solicitor General Aaron D. Lindstrom of Michigan; Solicitor General Barbara D. Underwood, Deputy Solicitor General Richard P. Dearing, Assistant Attorney General Elinor R. Hoffman, and Assistant Solicitor General Andrew B. Ayers of New York; and Solicitor General Jonathan F. Mitchell, Deputy Solicitor General Adam W. Aston, Deputy Solicitor General Andrew S. Oldham, Assistant Solicitor General James P. Sullivan, and Assistant Solicitor General Arthur C. D’Andrea of Texas.

The Francis X. Bellotti Award, given to a former attorney general who has served the Society of Attorneys General Emeritus (SAGE) and worked diligently to further NAAG’s vision and mission, was presented to former Vermont Attorney General M. Jerome Diamond.

Video of the open sessions and speaker PowerPoints can be accessed in the NAAG Summer Meeting archive:

Who's My AG?

Find the attorney general who represents you.

Meetings & Trainings

Stay informed of NAAG meetings and the NAGTRI trainings we offer.

AG Spotlight

Brian Frosh, Maryland Attorney General

Brian Frosh was sworn in as Maryland attorney general in January 2015.