National Association of Attorneys General

National Association of Attorneys General National Association of Attorneys General

New NAAG Officers Selected and Committee Appointments Confirmed

The National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG) elected new officers during its Summer Meeting, June 3-5, in Mackinac Island, Mich. The NAAG Executive Committee is charged with the leadership of Association operations. For June 2014 - June 2015, it is comprised of the following 12 attorneys general:

Attorney General Jim Hood (MS), President

Attorney General Marty Jackley (SD), President-Elect and CWAG Chair*

Attorney General George Jepsen (CT), Vice President

Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen (WI), Immediate Past President

Attorney General Peter Kilmartin (RI), Chair, Eastern Region

Attorney General Greg Zoeller (IN), Chair, Midwestern Region

Attorney General Luther Strange (AL), Chair, Southern Region

Attorney General Lawrence Wasden (ID), Vice Chair, Western Region *

Attorney General William Sorrell (VT), Chair, NAAG Mission Foundation

Attorney General Tim Fox (MT), Presidential Appointment

Attorney General Kathleen Kane (PA), Presidential Appointment

Attorney General Ellen F. Rosenblum (OR), Presidential Appointment

*The Conference of Western Attorneys General (CWAG) will elect new officers during its annual meeting July 20 - 23.

The NAAG president appoints all standing and special committee chairs. Committees are charged with studying all substantive matters within their jurisdictions and recommending policy positions and other matters to the attorneys general for action by the full Association. The committee lists for 2014-2015 can be found on the NAAG website,

Annual Awards

The NAAG Summer Meeting is also when award winners are announced and recognized, this year during a June 5 state dinner.

Massachusetts Attorney General Martha Coakley was the recipient of the Kelley-Wyman Award, the Association�s most prestigious honor given annually to the attorney general who has done the most to achieve NAAG objectives.

�She has steadfastly championed the interests not only of Massachusetts residents, but also of Americans across the country. Martha helped us reach the national mortgage foreclosure settlement, battle human trafficking, protect consumer privacy and assist veterans,� said Wisconsin Attorney General JB Van Hollen during the award presentation, his final act as NAAG president. �As a NAAG leader, she regularly found diplomatic ways to deal with a constant set of difficult matters.�

The Attorney General Executive Staff Member of the Year Award, given to those who have provided exceptional service to NAAG and the attorneys general through exemplary leadership, expertise and achievement, was awarded to Shirley Battan of the Washington Attorney General's Office.

�The greatest resource of any office is its people. We cannot serve the public without highly competent, ethical and dedicated public servants,� said Washington Attorney General Bob Ferguson. �Shirley is not only that kind of person in her own practice as a lawyer and manager, but also has dedicated her career to encouraging and preserving those values in the institution of the Washington State Attorney General's Office.�

Michael Hering, NAAG tobacco chief counsel, received the NAAG Executive Director�s Award from Jim McPherson.

The National Attorneys General Training and Research Institute (NAGTRI), a branch of NAAG, honored Bill Becker from the Ohio Attorney General�s Office, Janet Drake from the Colorado Attorney General�s Office and Rene Tomisser of the Washington Attorney General�s Office with the NAGTRI Faculty of the Year Award. This award is given annually to faculty members who have significantly contributed to developing and presenting quality legal training for their counterparts in attorneys general offices.

Best Brief Awards � U.S. Supreme Court

Individuals from the Alabama, Illinois, Massachusetts, Michigan, New York, and Texas offices of the attorneys general were recognized for excellence in brief writing for the U.S. Supreme Court. Recipients of the NAAG Supreme Court Best Brief Awards are Solicitor General Andrew L. Brasher and Assistant Solicitor General Megan A. Kirkpatrick of Alabama; Solicitor General Michael A. Scodro, Deputy Solicitor General Jane Elinor Notz, and Assistant Attorneys General Brett E. Legner, Nadine Jean Wichern, Eldad Malamuth, and Clifford W. Berlow of Illinois; Assistant Attorneys General Jennifer Grace Miller, Jonathan B. Miller, and Sookyoung Shin of Massachusetts; Solicitor General John J. Bursch, Deputy Solicitor General B. Eric Restuccia, Assistant Solicitor General Aaron D. Lindstrom, and Assistant Attorney General Raina Korbakis of Michigan; Solicitor General Barbara D. Underwood, Deputy Solicitor General Richard P. Dearing, Special Counsel to the Solicitor General Cecelia C. Chang, and Assistant Solicitor General Valerie Figueredo of New York; and Solicitor General Jonathan F. Mitchell, Deputy Solicitor General Andrew S. Oldham, and Assistant Solicitors General Michael P. Murphy, James P. Sullivan, and Douglas D. Geyser of Texas.

The Francis X. Bellotti Award, given to a former attorney general who has served the Society of Attorneys General Emeritus (SAGE) and worked diligently to further SAGE�s vision and mission, was presented to former Nevada Attorney General Frankie Sue Del Papa.

During a June 3 evening reception, host Michigan Attorney General Bill Schuette joined Iowa Attorney General Tom Miller, former Tennessee Attorney General Mike Cody and other SAGE members in paying tribute to Michigan�s Eternal Attorney General Frank Kelley (Michigan 1961 � 1998). He holds the record for the longest-serving state attorney general in U.S. history at 37 years.

Summer Meeting sessions

State attorneys general convened with key staff, other government officials and corporate, association and academic representatives to discuss pressing environmental issues, assess and improve the response to child sexual abuse, and identify best practices for prescription drug monitoring programs. There was also an update on this term�s U.S. Supreme Court cases and a review of open meetings and records laws.

Attorney General Schuette secured three special speakers from Michigan: Kevyn Orr, emergency manager, City of Detroit, who explained the city�s restructuring plans; Mark Dantonio, head football coach, Michigan State University, on team building; and Dan Gilbert, chairman and founder, Rock Ventures and Quicken Loans, Inc., on striving for success.

To view video of the open sessions and speaker PowerPoints, go to:

Who's My AG?

Find the attorney general who represents you.

Meetings & Trainings

Stay informed of NAAG meetings and the NAGTRI trainings we offer.

AG Spotlight

Josh Shapiro, Pennsylvania Attorney General

Josh Shapiro was elected attorney general of Pennsylvania in November 2016.