

PRESIDENT

Jeff Landry

Louisiana Attorney General

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Tim Fox
Montana Attorney General

VICE PRESIDENT Karl A. Racine District of Columbia Attorney General

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Derek Schmidt

Kansas Attorney General

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR
Chris Toth

May 1, 2019

The Honorable Nita Lowey Chairwoman U.S. House Committee on Appropriations 2365 Rayburn HOB Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable José Serrano Chairman U.S. House Committee on Appropriations Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science, & Related Agencies 2354 Rayburn HOB Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Kay Granger Ranking Member U.S. House Committee on Appropriations 1026 Longworth HOB Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Robert Aderholt
Ranking Member
U.S. House Committee on Appropriations
Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science,
& Related Agencies
1203 Longworth HOB
Washington, DC 20515

Re: State Attorneys General Support the Legal Services Corporation

Dear Chairwoman Lowey, Ranking Member Granger, Chairman Serrano, and Ranking Member Aderholt,

As state attorneys general, we respectfully request that you consider robust funding for the Legal Services Corporation (LSC) in the Fiscal Year 2020 Commerce, Justice, Science, and Related Agencies Appropriations bill.

For nearly 45 years, LSC funding has helped veterans and military families secure important benefits, supported survivors of domestic violence, and provided vital assistance to families facing foreclosure, victims of natural disasters, seniors, and disabled Americans. Today, it is also an essential support for rural and low-income Americans and families affected by the nationwide opioid epidemic.

LSC funding has also fostered public-private partnerships between legal aid organizations and private firms and attorneys across the country which donate their time and skills to assist residents in need. Nationwide, 132 independent nonprofit legal aid programs rely on this federal funding to provide services to tens of thousands of our constituents.

We thank you for your efforts to ensure continued funding for LSC. Please know that it makes a real difference in our states.

Sincerely,

1850 M Street, NW Twelfth Floor Washington, DC 20036 Phone: (202) 326-6000 http://www.naag.org/ Maura Healey

Massachusetts Attorney General

Kevin G. Clarkson

Alaska Attorney General

Xavier Becerra

California Attorney General

William Tong

Connecticut Attorney General

Karl A. Racine

District of Columbia Attorney General

Christopher M. Carr

Georgia Attorney General

Clare E. Connors

Hawaii Attorney General

Kwame Raoul

Illinois Attorney General

Tom Miller

Iowa Attorney General

HAR

Tim Fox

Montana Attorney General

Talauega Eleasalo V. Ale

American Samoa Attorney General

Weiser

Phil Weiser

Colorado Attorney General

Kathleen Jennings

Delaware Attorney General

Ashley Moody

Florida Attorney General

Leevin Taitano Camacho Guam Attorney General

Lawrence Wasden

Idaho Attorney General

Curtis Hill, Jr.

Indiana Attorney General

Andy Beshear

Kentucky Attorney General

Janon M. Frey

Aaron M. Frey

Maine Attorney General

Dana Nessel

Michigan Attorney General

Jim Hood

Mississippi Attorney General

Aaron D. Ford

Nevada Attorney General

Gurbir S. Grewal

New Jersey Attorney General

Letitia James

New York Attorney General

Wayne Stenehjem

North Dakota Attorney General

Mike Hunter

Oklahoma Attorney General

Josh Shapiro

Pennsylvania Attorney General

Brien & frank

Brian Frosh

Maryland Attorney General

Keith Ellison

Minnesota Attorney General

Douglas Peterson

Nebraska Attorney General

Gordon MacDonald

New Hampshire Attorney General

Hector Balderas

New Mexico Attorney General

Josh Stein

North Carolina Attorney General

**Edward Manibusan** 

Northern Mariana Islands Attorney General

Ellen F. Rosenblum

Oregon Attorney General

Peter Neronha

Rhode Island Attorney General

Juson & Ray

Jason R. Ravnsborg South Dakota Attorney General

T.J. Donovan

Vermont Attorney General

Robert W. Ferguson

Washington Attorney General

Herbert H. Slaty Z

Herbert H. Slatery III

Tennessee Attorney General

Mark R. Henry

Mark R. Herring

Virginia Attorney General

Joshua L. Kaul

Wisconsin Attorney General