

PRESIDENT Jeff Landry Louisiana Attorney General

PRESIDENT-ELECT Tim Fox Montana Attorney General

> VICE PRESIDENT Karl A. Racine District of Columbia Attorney General

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT Derek Schmidt Kansas Attorney General

> EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Chris Toth

The Honorable Mitch McConnell Majority Leader U.S. Senate 317 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Paul Ryan Majority Leader U.S. House of Representatives 1233 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Chuck Grassley Chairman Committee on the Judiciary U.S. Senate 135 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Bob Goodlatte Chairman Judiciary Committee U.S. House of Representatives 2309 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Charles Schumer Minority Leader U.S. Senate 322 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Minority Leader U.S. House of Representatives 233 Cannon House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Dianne Feinstein Ranking Member Committee on the Judiciary U.S. Senate 331 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Jerrold Nadler Ranking Member Judiciary Committee U.S. House of Representatives 2109 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

September 17, 2018

Dear Honorable Leaders:

We write to strongly urge you to act swiftly to reauthorize the Violence Against Women Act (VAWA), funding for which is set to expire this year. As the chief legal officers of our respective states, reducing the rate and devastating effects of sexual violence, intimate partner violence, and stalking and supporting survivors as they rebuild their lives has been a constant and consistent priority. If Congress allows VAWA to lapse, it will mean that millions of survivors will have nowhere to turn, violent crimes against women will increase, and perpetrators of these crimes will go unpunished.

Since VAWA was originally passed in 1994, legislation reauthorizing and further strengthening the law has passed with bipartisan support in 2000, 2005, and 2013. These improvements to VAWA have recognized and addressed the severity of sexual assault, domestic violence, dating violence, and stalking. With every iteration of the law, services, resources, protections, and remedies for survivors of these crimes have been enhanced.

1850 M Street, NW Twelfth Floor Washington, DC 20036 Phone: (202) 326-6000 http://www.naag.org/ Under the law, between 1995 and 2016, over \$6 billion in grants have been awarded to a wide array of government and non-profit organizations across the nation. These programs provide training and assistance to address and reduce domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, and stalking, offer resources and services to survivors, and hold offenders accountable. These programs have also facilitated partnerships between prosecutors, judges, advocates, community organizations, and health care providers. Through our extensive effort to fight violence against women and support survivors, we have seen that coordinated responses are essential to help survivors through crisis and empower them to live safe and healthy lives.

VAWA has substantially improved access to advocacy, health care, and legal services, but unfortunately, violence against women remains prevalent in all communities. Every aspect of our society--rural, suburban, urban, and our tribal communities-- has all been impacted by the painful effects of violence against women. Yet, the work to eradicate sexual and intimate partner violence is far from complete. Congress must act swiftly to re-authorize VAWA to maintain the essential tools so necessary to support survivors and reduce the frequency of these senseless acts of violence.

As the legislative history of VAWA has shown, members from both sides of the aisle have come together to strengthen existing protections and fill gaps in the law. We therefore urge you to work together as leaders of your respective caucuses and committees to act before VAWA expires and pass a VAWA reauthorization bill that continues to ensure our nation's most vulnerable victims are not left behind.

Sincerely,

Pamela Jo Bondi Florida Attorney General

Steve Marshall Alabama Attorney General

Talauega Eleasalo V. Ale American Samoa Attorney General

Leslie Rutledge Arkansas Attorney General

Use Madip

Lisa Madigan Illinois Attorney General

Jahna Lindemuth Alaska Attorney General

Mark Brnovich Arizona Attorney General

Xavier Becerra

California Attorney General

Cynthia H. C. Innan

Cynthia H. Coffman Colorado Attorney General

Matthew P. Denn Delaware Attorney General

Christopher M. Carr Georgia Attorney General

Runellh. Su

Russell A. Suzuki Hawaii Attorney General

Curtis T. Hill, Jr. Indiana Attorney General

and lt

Derek Schmidt Kansas Attorney General

an Jeff Landry

Louisiana Attorney General

Bue-E.

Brian Frosh Maryland Attorney General

Bill Schuette Michigan Attorney General

George Jepsen Connecticut Attorney General

Karl A. Racine District of Columbia Attorney General

Elizabeth Barrett-Anderson Guam Attorney General

Lawrence Wasden Idaho Attorney General

Tom Miller Iowa Attorney General

Andy Beshear Kentucky Attorney General

Aanet Mills Maine Attorney General

Maura Healey Massachusetts Attorney General

Lori Swanson Minnesota Attorney General

im that

Iim Hood Mississippi Attorney General

Tim Fox Montana Attorney General

Adam Paulaxalt Nevada Attorney General

Gurbir S. Grewal New Jersey Attorney General

anlan D. Undu

Barbara D. Underwood New York Attorney General

Wayne Stenehjem () North Dakota Attorney General

muchael S

Mike DeWine Ohio Attorney General

& ou blu Y.

Ellen F. Rosenblum Oregon Attorney General

Wanda Vazquez Garced Puerto Rico Attorney General

Josh Hawley

Missouri Attorney General

Douglas Peterson Nebraska Attorney General

Gordon MacDonald New Hampshire Attorney General

Hector Balderas New Mexico Attorney General

Josh Śtein North Carolina Attorney General

warmander

Edward Manibusan N. Mariana Islands Attorney General

Mike Hunter

Oklahoma Attorney General

Josh Shapiro Pennsylvania Attorney General

Peter F. Kilmartin Rhode Island Attorney General

lan Wilson

Alan Wilson South Carolina Attorney General

L

Herbert H. Slatery III Tennessee Attorney General

Sean Reyes

Utah Attorney General

lunde Ent Walken

Claude E. Walker Virgin Islands Attorney General

Robert W. Ferguson V Washington Attorney General

Brad Schimel

Wisconsin Attorney General

Judley Marty

Marty J. Jackley South Dakota Attorney General

Ken Paxton

Texas Attorney General

T.J. Donovan Vermont Attorney General

Marr. ŀ Mark R. Herring

Virginia Attorney General

PATRICK Momse

Patrick Morrisey West Virginia Attorney General

Peter K. Michael Wyoming Attorney General