

PRESIDENT Derek Schmidt Kansas Attorney General

PRESIDENT-ELECT Jeff Landry Louisiana Attorney General

VICE PRESIDENT Tim Fox Montana Attorney General

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT George Jepsen Connecticut Attorney General

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

August 17, 2017

ABA Criminal Justice Section 740 15th Street NW Suite 900 Washington, DC 20005

RE: Comments on Proposed Standards Relating to Postconviction Remedies

Dear ABA Criminal Justice Section,

We, the undersigned Attorneys General, are writing in support of the Comments submitted by the NAAG Criminal Law Committee on July 5, 2017 to the proposed Standards Relating to Postconviction Remedies ("Standards") issued by your Standards Committee on September 27, 2016. We, too, have deep concerns over the sweeping changes to established law and practice that the proposed Standards advocate. And we join in our colleagues' concern about the impact these Standards would have on the finality of criminal convictions and the interests of crime victims.

Finally, we should note that we do not object to continued assessment of, and dialogue about, the procedures by which defendants may seek postconviction relief. We believe, however, that the ABA should not support Standards that recommend a radical departure from existing law without acknowledging that they do just that and explaining why those recommendations are in the interest of all stakeholders in the criminal justice system.

Sincerely,

Jeff Landry Louisiana Attorney General

Steven I Marshall

Steve Marshall Alabama Attorney General

Jim Hood Mississippi Attorney General

MarkTS

Mark Brnovich Arizona Attorney General

1850 M Street, NW Twelfth Floor Washington, DC 20036 Phone: (202) 326-6000 http://www.naag.org/

Le L' Ralleda

Leslie Rutledge Arkansas Attorney General

Matthew P. Denn Delaware Attorney General

Alun

Christopher M. Carr Georgia Attorney General

al ~{

Lawrence Wasden Idaho Attorney General

Curtis T. Hill Jr. Indiana Attorney General

enk Schmidt

Derek Schmidt Kansas Attorney General

and I mile

Janet T. Mills Maine Attorney General

Josh Hawley Missouri Attorney General

as flate

Douglas Peterson Nebraska Attorney General

Cynthia H- Gfman

Cynthia H. Coffman Colorado Attorney General

nndi

Pamela Jo Bondi Florida Attorney General

Douglas S. Chin Hawaii Attorney General

Lisa Madigan llinois Attorney General

Tom Miller Iowa Attorney General

Indy Beshear

Andy Beshear Kentucky Attorney General

> huelle Dell

Bill Schuette Michigan Attorney General

Tim Fox Montana Attorney General

Adam Paul Laxalt Nevada Attorney General

Gordon MacDonald New Hampshire Attorney General

Wayne Stenehjem North Dakota Attorney General

muchael De win

Mike DeWine Ohio Attorney General

Josh Shapiro Pennsylvania Attorney General

Man Wilson

Alan Wilson South Carolina Attorney General

Ferbert H. Flaty Z

Herbert H. Slatery, III Tennessee Attorney General

Sean Reyes Utah Attorney General

Brad Schimel Wisconsin Attorney General

1 61

Hector Balderas New Mexico Attorney General

wasshander

Edward Manibusan Northern Mariana Islands Attorney General

Mike Hunter Oklahoma Attorney General

etu F. Kilmartin

Peter F. Kilmartin Rhode Island Attorney General

Judley

Marty J. Jackley South Dakota Attorney General

Ken Paxton Texas Attorney General

PATRICK Momse

Patrick Morrisey West Virginia

ite Mirker

Peter K. Michael Wyoming Attorney General