

President

Tim Fox

Montana Attorney General

PRESIDENT-ELECT

Karl Racine

District of Columbia Attorney General

VICE-PRESIDENT

Tom Miller

Iowa

Attorney General

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Jeff Landry

Louisiana

Attorney General

Chris Toth

Executive Director

1850 M Street NW 12th Floor Washington, DC 20036 (202) 326-6000 www.naag.org November 30, 2020

The Hon. Nancy Pelosi

Speaker

U.S. House of Representatives

United States Capitol Washington, DC 20515

The Hon. Kevin McCarthy

Minority Leader

U.S. House of Representatives U.S. Senate

United States Capitol Washington, DC 20515

The Hon. Richard Neal

Chairman

Ways and Means Committee

1102 Longworth HOB Washington, DC 20515 The Hon. Mitch McConnell

Majority Leader

U.S. Senate

United States Capitol Washington, DC 20515

The Hon. Chuck Schumer

Minority Leader

U.S. Senate

United States Capitol Washington, DC 20510

The Hon. Kevin Brady Ranking Member

Ways and Means Committee

1139 Longworth HOB Washington, DC 20515

Dear Speaker Pelosi, Majority Leader McConnell, Minority Leader McCarthy, Minority Leader Schumer, Chairman Neal and Ranking Member Brady,

Thank you for everything you have done thus far in providing critical relief to communities reeling from the health, societal, and economic effects of COVID-19. We are grateful for the federal support, but we write today to ask that Congress consider extending the spending-related deadline for relief funding so Americans can receive the full benefit of this assistance.

COVID-19 has impacted every facet of American society. In anticipation of unprecedented costs and economic disruption stemming from the pandemic, Congress passed the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act, which President Trump signed into law. This legislation established the Coronavirus Relief Fund (CRF), which provides financial assistance to communities for expenses incurred due to COVID-19.

One of the restrictions placed on the funding, however, limits the money's use to expenses incurred between March 1, 2020, and December 30, 2020. This time frame likely made sense in late March when the CARES Act was passed, but we have learned a great deal about COVID-19 in the past seven months. Among other things, we know that the pandemic will continue to challenge communities well beyond December 30, 2020 – a deadline that now seems unreasonable.

With COVID-19 cases rising daily in much of the country and many states still under a health emergency declaration, we urge Congress to amend the CRF program to allow state and local governments to spend the funding at least until December 31, 2021.

In some states, Attorneys General are being called upon to help distribute CARES funding, a role that has given us firsthand knowledge of the difficulties posed by the current deadline.

For example, the Ohio Attorney General's Office is administering a grant program providing reimbursement for eligible COVID-19 expenses to rape crisis centers, domestic violence shelters, and child advocacy centers. Establishing standards and procedures for a grant program took time, thus reducing the time that these organizations have had to apply for and receive reimbursements. All the while, these groups' need for COVID-related assistance has grown only more substantial, a demand that is not likely to subside anytime soon.

The CARES Act is a program that is delivering critical resources to local governments, businesses, nonprofits, and families. We collectively thank you for your leadership on this issue and hope that you will carefully consider our request to extend the deadline for eligible expenses through 2021.

Yours,

Tom Miller

Iowa Attorney General

Clyde "Ed" Sniffen, Jr.

Acting Alaska Attorney General

Clyle 3. Diffin Jr.

on Milla

Leslie Rutledge

Arkansas Attorney General

Dave Yost

Ohio Attorney General

Mitzie Jessop Taase

American Samoa Attorney General

Xavier Recerra

California Attorney General

Phil Weiser
Colorado Attorney General

Kathleen Jennings

Delaware Attorney General

Ashly wordy

Ashley Moody Florida Attorney General

Leevin Taitano Camacho Guam Attorney General

Lawrence Wasden Idaho Attorney General

Curtis T. Hill, Jr. Indiana Attorney General

Daniel Cameron

Kentucky Attorney General

Brian Frosh Maryland Attorney General

Dana Nessel Michigan Attorney General William Tong Connecticut Attorney General

Karl A. Racine District of Columbia Attorney General

Christopher M. Carr Georgia Attorney General

Clare E. Connors Hawaii Attorney General

Kwame Raoul
Illinois Attorney General

Derek Schmidt Kansas Attorney General

Aaron M. Frey

Maine Attorney General

Maura Healey

Massachusetts Attorney General

Keith Ellison

Minnesota Attorney General



Mississippi Attorney General

Tim Fox

Montana Attorney General



New Hampshire Attorney General



New Mexico Attorney General

Josh Stein

North Carolina Attorney General

Edward Manibusan

Northern Mariana Islands Attorney General

Janan Nachhez

Ellen F. Rosenblum

Oregon Attorney General

Inés del C. Carrau-Martínez

Acting Puerto Rico Attorney General

Jason R. Ravnsborg

South Dakota Attorney General

Missouri Attorney General

Aaron D. Ford

Nevada Attorney General



Gurbir S. Grewal

New Jersey Attorney General

Letitia James

New York Attorney General

Wayne Stenehjem

North Dakota Attorney General

Mike Hunter

Oklahoma Attorney General

Josh Shapiro

Pennsylvania Attorney General

Peter F. Neronha

Rhode Island Attorney General

Herbert H. Slatery III

Tennessee Attorney General

SIN

Sean Reyes Utah Attorney General

Denise N. George Virgin Islands Attorney General

Robert W. Ferguson Washington Attorney General

Joshua L. Kaul Wisconsin Attorney General

Oshua S. Kail

T.J. Donovan Vermont Attorney General

Mark R. Herring
Virginia Attorney General

PATRICK momsey

Patrick Morrisey West Virginia Attorney General