Founded in 1978, the National Association of Medicaid Fraud Control Units (NAMFCU) represents Medicaid Fraud Control Units (MFCUs) across the country. All 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands have Medicaid Fraud Control Units. All but five are located in the state’s Office of the Attorney General.

NAMFCU has enabled MFCUs to deter some of the largest and most insidious health care provider frauds, recover program dollars, punish corrupt practitioners, and prosecute those who abuse or neglect nursing home residents. Learn more about NAMFCU's history.

About the National Association of Medicaid Fraud Control Units

The National Association of Medicaid Fraud Control Units (NAMFCU) is a professional association that was founded in 1978.  Membership is voluntary but all 53 federally certified Medicaid Fraud Control Units (MFCUs) are members of NAMFCU.

NAMFCU's mission is to serve and promote the success of its member Units in meeting their statutory obligations both in combatting health care fraud and protecting our elderly and disabled Medicaid population from abuse, neglect, and misappropriation of funds.

NAMFCU serves this mission through providing training and promoting interstate cooperation between the states.

History of NAMFCU

One year after the signing of P.L. 95-142, the Medicare-Medicaid Anti-Fraud and Abuse Amendments, by President Jimmy Carter on October 25, 1977, 19 MFCU Directors met formally for the first time in Mt. Laurel, New Jersey at the inaugural National Training Conference for Medicaid Fraud Control. Directors met with key staff of the then-U.S. Department of Health, Education and Welfare (HEW) to discuss regulations, criteria for Unit certification and recertification and other matters of mutual concern. It was at this first meeting, due to a difference in opinion with HEW staff regarding the reporting requirements of the Units and the need for investigative confidentiality, that the Unit directors recognized the need to form a national association.

Formal organization of NAMFCU took place two months later, on December 12, 1978 at the National Conference on Fraud, Abuse and Error in Washington, D.C. The Unit directors from the 20 then-certified states met to elect a president and to form an Executive Committee that would ensure that all states had equal representation. New York State Deputy Attorney General and Special Prosecutor for Nursing Homes, Health and Social Services Charles (Joe) Hynes was elected the first NAMFCU President.

For more than three decades, NAMFCU has participated in many effective cooperative efforts with federal authorities to protect government-funded healthcare programs from health care providers or vendors whose fraudulent activities cause harm to these programs across state lines. These multistate cases (commonly referred to as “global cases”) are generally limited to Medicaid, Medicare and other government-funded healthcare programs and do not extend to programs funded solely by state government.

NAMFCU Mission

The mission of the National Association of Medicaid Fraud Control Units (NAMFCU) is to serve and promote the success of its member Units in meeting their statutory obligations both in combatting Medicaid provider fraud and protecting our nation’s care facility residents, through training, communication, and information sharing.

NAMFCU serves to:

  • Provide a forum for the mutual exchange of views and experiences on subjects of importance to the state Medicaid Fraud Control Units.
  • Foster interstate cooperation on legal and law enforcement issues affecting the Units.
  • Improve the quality of Medicaid fraud and resident abuse investigations and prosecutions by conducting training programs and providing technical assistance for Association members.
  • Facilitate communication among the state Medicaid Fraud Control Units that are Association members.
  • Provide the public with information about the Medicaid Fraud Control Units.

NAMFCU is housed at the National Association of Attorneys General in Washington, D.C.

NAMFCU Leadership

NAMFCU's Executive Committee oversees the Association and consists of:

  • Three officers
  • Six regional representatives
  • The director of the New York MFCU
  • All past presidents of the Association

NAMFCU officers are elected annually by Unit directors (each Unit is led by one director). Regional representatives are elected annually by members of their region.


Zelner headshot

Barbara Zelner

Swift headshot

Ashley Swift

Vang headshot

Linda Vang

Sierra Saunders


NAMFCU’s training programs bring together MFCU staff to learn about emerging legal issues and effective investigative techniques.

Interested in employment opportunities?

Discover career opportunities with Medicaid Fraud Control Units.